Preaching at Nursing Homes

One of the obligations that many pastors have is to preach at a nursing home from time to time.  When I started, I went in with very low expectations.  My aim was simply be a nice young pastor, saying some pleasant things and maybe tell a few cute stories about my kids.  Basically I saw the church service as an activity to break up their day.  I don’t do that any more.  I still preach to where they are at, attention spans, generation, etc.  However, I seek to challenge the seniors I preach to.  Think about who they are.  They are people who are nearing the end of their life who spend all their time with other people who are nearing the end of their life.  A great portion of Christianity is about what we need to do before standing before God.  I seek to equip these seniors (even talking to them about apologetics) and I challenge them to put their faith in action in the nursing home.  If you preach at a nursing home, I urge you to reflect on who you are preaching to and how you are preaching to them.

3 thoughts on “Preaching at Nursing Homes”

  1. What if the same was applied to pastoral visitation- if we visited not just to lift their spirit with some small talk and company, but to actually spiritually challenge them? We were actually talking about that today in our Elgin Association pastors lunch.

  2. I speak at a nursing home every Sunday and I was guilty about preaching what I call fluff. Encouraging sermons and sermons on love and simple things like that. Then one day I felt (as I walked to the car) that I was doing an injustice. I would preach differently in front of a “church group.” Another night I was preparing a message and I felt in my heart that my sermons are some of the last they will hear. By the grace of God, he helped me change my method and deliver a better sermon; sermons that hopefully help prepare for our day before the Lord.

    Barry

  3. I agree with you hold heardy, I will urge the seniors to hold on to God’s unchanging hand, because God will never leave us or forsake us, He’ll be with us always. Through all the akes and pain in the knees and hands, God is still with them and holding those pailfuil hands.

Leave a Reply

